A Feline State of Mind

I saw the 80’s remake of Cat People starring Nastassja Kinski and Malcolm McDowell when I was in my early teens. The highly sexualised, cat themed, werewolf movie was certainly an eye-opener for my 14 year old self but it’s the Giorgio Moroder soundtrack featuring David Bowie’s titular track Cat People (Putting Out Fie) that stayed with me to this day. I love the grinding aggression of the guitar line and evocative lyrics that conjure richly colour, jungle images.

Additionally the Giorgio Moroder track - Leopard Tree Dream is an epic piece of synthesised 80’s mood, it drifts and floats until morphing into the Cat People theme.

Which was in turn sampled to great effect by Cannibal Ox on the epic track Iron Galaxy.

· music · soundtracks


Previous:Cutting up the Future?
Next:Embrace the Darkness on the Burial Grid